Tuesday, August 30, 2011

A Real Spy Tells a Tale of Espionage in the Field: Review of "The Maverick Experiment" by Drew Berquist

In the tradition of Ian Fleming and John Le Carre, Drew Berquist is a former intelligence officer and contractor who has chosen to tell a tale of spy craft in Southwest Asia. It is clear that he is using this novel, and the entire Maverick series, to make a political point about the deleterious effects of bureaucracy and political correctness tying the hands of our intelligence community. His polemical bent notwithstanding, he tells a tale that is worthy of being read.

Derek Stevens is called out of early retirement to lead a Maverick team to do the black ops dirty work that the CIA cannot afford to have its own employees do. Berquist writes with the voice of one who has been there and understands the labyrinthine ways of the intelligence community and Special Ops. His well-told tale of the Maverick's team's exploits in Afghanistan and Pakistan kept me on the edge of my seat.

I look forward to the next book in this series.



No comments: